Twitterdiction: Apps I Like

I keep a “Stuff I’m Into” list which was slowly becoming my “Twitter” list. It’s true, I may have a Twitter addiction. My friends have told me I say “tweet” more times in a single conversation than they’ve heard from anyone else put together. I even was auto-“muted” from one of my good friends feeds for tweeting too much. But I digress…

Today I was lost somewhere in Twitdom, an amazing, and ridiculously hard to search, site devoted to Twitter-Helper-App-Site-Widgets. I was working on some specific problems from a client and found myself wanting to add something to my list every five minutes. Enough, that I’m going to have to make Twitter apps a separate list. These are, just to be clear, not all the amazing apps, but the ones I personally found useful for me and my client.

(Titles link to websites!)

Little Twitter Helpers

TweetChat
One of the best ways to meet interesting people on Twitter quickly, and organically, is by participating in Twitter chats. This site auto-adds hashtags to your chat tweets so you don’t have to type them in. You can also choose to follow only certain favorite people in the chat. Helpful when you’re in a chat like #blogchat which has grown too large to keep up with every tweet.

What the Hashtag?
When I first got on Twitter I visited this site more than any other. It’s just a nice user-generated wiktionary of what all those hashtags stand for. It’s really helpful for finding descriptions for Twitter chats. The site is owned by “What the Trend?” and I believe has an affiliation with Rapleaf, an edgy web marketing company.

Snap Bird
Allows you to search your tweets…or someone else’s! Which, if you’re a supertweeter like me, allows you to reference your own links, like if I retweeted an app I loved and a month later was like “omg I need that!” You just enter a keyword and keep searching back 200 tweets at a time until you find it. (I had originally tried pushing tweets into GoogleReader to search, but it only starts the day you sign up and it’s a search a fail, ironically.)

Bit.ly
One of the most popular shorteners. I usually use bit.ly rather than the autoshortener in Tweetdeck because it keeps track of clicks. It’s a good way to see which topics are most relevant to your followers. For example: My most clicked link was to my blogpost on Britney Spears.

When Did I Join Twitter?
Totally silly. Why is this important? Not necessarily for “I”, but you check other twitter handles to see when people joined Twitter. The idea I guess is how influential they are, how trend savvy they are, and if they joined early-recently it would explain if they have high-low follower accounts.

Getting More Twitterdicted

UberMedia

Uber owns pretty much any cool app worth using to post for Twitter. There was some major scuffles with Twitter recently who feeling pressure to find a better revenue generated than promoted tweets, and since Uber is doing such a great job of creating processing apps, Twitter decided to shut them down. But now they’re back.

Uber owns Tweetdeck, my favorite Twitter desktop app. Actually my favorite desktop social media dashboard of any kind, over Rockmelt, Hootsuites and any other thing I blog about. My fave feature Tweetdeck’s notification settings make it easy to sit here blogging and be able to answers tweets at me.

Ht.ly
If you’re using Hootsuite, which is a great social Dashboard if you’re updating across multiple streams at once, you have a choice between Ht.ly and Ow.ly for shortening URLs. I like Ht.ly because it puts a social sharing bar across the top of the link for your reader. Great to encourage sharing of your bloglinks!

TweepStats
This is a quicky way to look at your tweets. Mostly it analyzes key words in your tweets. It also searches for emoticons, which is funny because you get to know how happy you tweet.

TweetStats
Yes, it’s different, and takes a lot longer to load up. It does provide Monty Python quotes and ridiculous sayings to keep you entertained though. TweetStats has excellent colorcoded bargraphs and breaks down your tweeting volume by month, day of the week and hour.

Getting to Business

Qwitter
Have you ever had your friends go down and Facebook and been desperate…I mean curious, to see who unfriended you? With Qwitter, you don’t have to feel that paranoid, I mean as slightly confused. You can get a daily email of who unfollowed you, and the last tweet you sent. It’s a good way to get a clue to if you’re offending people. In case they don’t set up a “PR” handle and let you know. There’s even “Qwitter Therapy” section, if all this unfollowing starts to get to you.

UberCurrent
Uber also runs a mobile app called “UberCurrent” which I believe was one of the shut off apps. I rarely use UberCurrent, but it’s a pretty good app to see what’s trending. Usually celebrities. Or you know, revolutions. You don’t have to be logged in or even have a Twitter account to use it. Good if you want to do some disruptive tweeting, like @KennethCole did. (Joke)

Twitalyzer
This is similar to Klout. Very Similar. Klout supposedly factors in other things like Facebook, but basically it ranks off Twitter. Twitalyzer gives you a percentile, like when you were in gym class, of where you rank in terms of influence. This is helpful for businesses looking to profile key influencers on Twitter they may want to reach out to. For more indepth use Twitalyzer charges a $5/month subscription fee.

TwitterFeed
LOVE this. TwitterFeed allows you to plug any feed into your Twitter account, Facebook, HelloTxt (a Twitter alternative) and StatusNet (a Hootsuite alternative). I DO NOT recommend doing this to autofeed news to your Twitter account, because if you follow me on Twitter I will report and block you. Seriously. For bloggers though, this is a great way to auto-feed an RSS of your posts and comments to Twitter. If you’re running a campaign, you can make an RSS of topic mentions in the news and feed it in their too.

My favorite thing about TwitterFeed is the control you have in Advanced Settings. You can auto-add hashtags, prefixes, or suffixes to your RSS tweet stream. It also bit.ly’s links for you, and you can go into TwitterFeed and see how many clicks you’re getting.

Research.ly
You’ll notice reading my blog I love analytics. Research.ly is an amazing search tool for finding communities. I like it for the stats it gives on Twitter topic mentions. To see how I use Research.ly, check out my “Statistical Follow Up of Quora and Digg“. You get 15 free searches on Research.ly before you have to start paying.

Time.ly
This is a nice tool for regular tweeters who want to make sure their getting maximum engagement. I allows you to schedule your tweets at regular intervals throughout the day, and goes a step further than Hootsuite and Tweetdeck, by analyzing the timing of your replies. It then recommends times of day for you to schedule your tweet based on when your followers are most active. Use this tool after you’ve established your following and tweeted evenly through the day for a couple weeks so you have a good sampling to analyze.

TwitterSplit
This is another good resource for bloggers. TwitterSplit puts a header over any links you share on your Twitter stream with your website or blog’s info, so the reader is reminded to go to your site to find more good content. It’s a bit complicated to get started, and is for self-hosted blogs, but a very cool way to maximize your blogging promotion even when sharing content from other sites.

More Resources:
Since I can’t list everything you’ll need, and your needs are most likely different than mine, and depending on who’s account your Twitter jockeying.

OneForty
This popular site host product how-to guides on just about every social media app or tool out their. Social media experts, not just “talking head” KOLs, fill up this site with case studies from actual digital strategy campaigns and give tips on how to use them for yourself. I recommend following Michael Brito. He’s a nice guy and a successful SVP of digital at Edelman, one of the best agencies in the field.

TwitDom
This site is Twitter only. As I said before the navigation kind of sucks. It doesn’t have case studies for digital like OneForty does, and isn’t user-generated like OneForty, but it’s still a great resource if you have time to cruise for cool apps.

Leave a Reply

